Past, Present and Future

29 Sep

So I started this blog as a way to review books, comment on what’s happening with the club and really tell the story of how we came to be and where we are going.

It’s all very exciting. When I started it over four years ago I had goal in mind – find some girls friends in a city that isn’t always the most welcoming or friendly. The first meeting we ever had I think around 21 people showed up. I was ecstatic. I am still in touch with some of the women I met that night (Belle), the book club has taken me on a journey I could never have anticipated all that time ago. It’s changed a lot over the years as I’ve learned and changed myself. The main goal of it is no longer the same as it was 4 years ago, at least not for me – but I’ve facilitated it so that the women who attend are usually looking for what I was looking for when I first set it up.

I think it’s really one of the most perfect places to meet other women you have something in common with without it seeming  forced or contrived. So here we are, the meetings have grown considerably.. but they are still manageable and the number of groups has grown exponentially as well. It started in London but it seems to be a successful equation that works all over the world. When you move to a new city, be it for work, love, or just a new adventure the most important thing you can do is find yourself some good girlfriends… they are the ones who will make you want to stay and the ones who will make the experience what it is.

I’ve noticed recently that a lot of women who are native to the city have joined the group. As you get older and friends get married, move, have children it’s not always as easy to get together and sometimes you need to expand your circle of friends. Sometimes it’s just nice to have a group that enjoys reading as much as you do. One of my best friends has likely only ever read 5 books in her whole life – so needless to say we don’t usually discuss the literary greats together. Most of the women in the club are ex-pats, or have moved to the city from another part of the country but it’s nice to have both and it makes our clubs rich and diverse. We also have a real mix of ages, from as young as 19 to women in their 60’s, this is also an incredible combination – to be able to meet women you’d never meet otherwise and discuss work and live with women who have lived more and have found themselves on the same journey’s you may be on today. I’ve seen women connect with others and help each other out after only having just spent 30 minutes discussing that month’s novel.

I am excited for the future, I am excited that I get to be a part of something so much bigger than myself and I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

