J.K. Rowling Crosses Over to the Adult World

19 Oct

No, I haven’t read it … but I am chomping at the bit to get a copy. I’ve asked for one … but still waiting .. ho hum. Anyone else read it?

I only read one Harry Potter Novel but the sheer brilliance of it did not escape even me.. also saw a few of the movies but it sort of got to the point where I was which one have I seen, and then how do you go back and watch when you saw 1,3 and say movie 6? I think you’re screwed.

Anyway, I am very interested in seeing how well her style crosses over into the Adult World. The Casual Vacancy, released last week. I’ve read the reviews and it’s not looking great but I want a chance to review it myself.

It’s almost a question of WHY? When you do something so well, why bother putting yourself on the line in a completely different genre? The truth is it was never going to be as well received as her children’s books. Yet, I supposed that’s all part of life, trying something new and with the death of Harry Potter (I mean the end of the books – I don’t actually know if he dies in the end?) she must have found herself at a loose end. But it must have been so nerve racking to write an adult fiction novel after having Harry Potter under her belt. Which has sold more than 400 million copies and become the best selling book series in history. She’s now worth over £550 million.

I’ll write another post once I’ve actually read the book and let you know if I think it was worth the paper it was written on. Until then… happy reading!

Leave a Reply

