Book Review: Tom, Dick and Debbie Harry by Jessica Adams

8 Dec

This is the first whole book I’ve read on my iPhone – which I think is in itself a bit of a feat. I only have about 10 minutes to and from work and it took me about 50 trips to finish this book at this pace. I have to say, I almost gave up mid way. When Bronte sees her dead horse I almost had to pack it in…. but I persevered since it’s going to be discussed in our December meeting here in London.

pi6649b95567b4b285@largeIt’s a strange story that takes place in a place I’ve never been, Tasmania. I could relate a bit to Sarah who came over from London but I can’t even imagine living in Compton after the energy and liveliness of London, it must have been quite a shock.

The story itself – following both Harry, Tom, Richard, Sarah and Bronte never allowed me to get properly invested in any one character. I thought the end with Harry and Bronte finding whatever it was they found with each other highly unlikely and the fact that Sarah seemed to be once again smitten with her husband was never fully explained.

It was a very odd book but I didn’t hate it. It kept me entertained and I found I looked forward to hearing about the stranger characters more than the sane one such as Harry with his terrible polyester outfits and even his random band mate.

It wouldn’t ever be on my recommendation list but I’ll be interested to hear what others thought of it. I also don’t think it will compel me to pick up Adam other book Single White Email.

 

Leave a Reply

