The Christmas Book Elf

12 Dec

Do you have someone on your list that is hard to buy for? I come from a family where a book never goes astray. My dad is easy – Crime and Action, I try and buy him a hardcover that hasn’t come out in Canada so there is an element of surprise to the gift – he reads everything as soon as it hits paperback.

This year I got him – Tom Clancy’s Threat Vector. I still need to find him a couple other special titles. For my sister in law who loved the Hunger Games I am buying Divergent by Veronica Roth and her following book Insurgent. I couldn’t put bookloverthem down and they had the same non stop adventure the Hunger Games provided.

My mom has very similar tastes as myself so that’s easy – she gets everything second hand. Although if a book isn’t instantly gratifying she’s not willing to put in the time and see it through. Taking that into consideration this year I came across a great book from Michael O’Mara books – they publish the coolest book ever, it’s called The Book Lover’s Companion. It has over 100 synopsis’s of some of the greatest books including: The Book Thief, Wolf hall & The Handmade’s Tale. This way you get to read enough to know if it’s a book you’d want to commit to. I’m going to get a few of these and couple them with Amazon vouchers so that once my friends decide they can order a copy themselves.

If you have any sci-fi lovers then you should consider The Host by none other than Twilight’s Stephenie Meyer. Or check out an old classic Life of Pi by Yann Martel, if only to be able to watch the movie when it comes out! Or revisit Bridget Jones’s Diary as the newest movie Bridget Jones’s Baby will also come out in 2013.

I hope this is of some help for those still looking for gift – I hate to brag but I am all done!

Leave a Reply

